About: Stichting IFEA

Kvk # S1095

Stichting Opleidingen Financiele Sector Aruba / Institute for Financial Education Aruba



The factual incorporation of the IFEA happened more than ten years ago, when the main groundwork for this foundation was laid and ambitious plans started being made to improve the overall quality of the financial sector on the island. Mr. Ron Wijngaarde was one of the driving forces behind these first years of activity and helped the IFEA form a clear vision, organizing workshops and courses on a regular basis in close collaboration with the Netherlands-based NIBE-SVV. Eventually the foundation was officially incorporated on December 15th, 2009 with a newly appointed Board consisting of President Mr. Prakash Mungra representing the Centrale Bank van Aruba, Secretary Mr. Ivan J. Nava representing the ABA and Treasurer Mr. Jacques P. van der Scheer, representing the IAA.  The board members of IFEA may have changed over the years, however the objective of our foundation remains the same: to continue to contribute to the education and to promote the quality of personnel in the financial sector of Aruba, mainly through the organisation of workshops and courses on a wide array of different relevant subjects throughout the year.


Founding fathers

The IFEA was founded by the Centrale Bank van Aruba, the IAA and the ABA. Our board consists at all times of at least one representative of each one of these founding fathers.  These are our current board members:


President of the Board: Mrs. Amalin Flanegin (representing CBA)

Effective: 1 July 2014

Amalin Flanegin is currently General Manager Supervision and Legal Affairs, advisor to the Executive Committee of the Centrale Bank van Aruba (CBA) which position she holds since March 1st, 2012. She is a graduate of the Leiden University in the Netherlands in civil law (1986) and has also a degree as candidate notary (1987). In September 1987 she started her professional career with the Department of Legislation of the Government of Aruba (now DWJZ). In 1992 she became the deputy Secretary of the State Council of Aruba (Raad van Advies). After a short period at the Court of First Instance of Aruba she became in 1996 the first head of the new department Meldpunt Ongebruikelijke Transacties (MOT). In 2002 she joined the Openbaar Ministerie as a public prosecutor in training and became after a year a public prosecutor. In 2007 she left the Public Prosecution’s office and decided to become an attorney at law with a general practice. In 2010 she combined her practice as an attorney at law with a part time appointment at the Faculty of Law of the Universiteit van Aruba as a lecturer teaching the courses Legal skills and Introduction to Aruban Penal Law. In the past she has been a member of several boards for example of the Stichting Wit Gele Kruis and the General Health Costs Insurance (AZV). Since July 1st, 2014 she has taken on a new challenge as the President of the Board of IFEA representing one of the founding fathers, CBA.


Treasurer of the Board: Mr. Henry van den Berg (representing IAA)


Effective: December 2014

Henry van den Berg, Managing Director of Ennia Aruba, has more than 15 years of experience in the financial services industry. After working in Banking and Investment Banking at ING and ABN AMRO, advising retail and institutional clients, Henry van den Berg joined Guardian Group Fatum in 2011 where he was responsible for Sales and Life and Pension operations. After four successful years at Guardian Group he joined Ennia at the beginning of 2015 to become Managing Director of the Aruba office with a focus on business development.
His main specialties are Financial Planning, Investments and Pensions.
Henry van den Berg holds a bachelor degree of science in economics from the University of Groningen.


Secretary of the Board: Mrs. Barbara Bronswinkel (representing ABA)



Effective: December 2014

After working in Management functions in the Hotel Industry for over 10 years, Barbara is currently active as Regional Human Resources at Aruba Bank N.V. and ORCO Bank. Barbara has a Masters degree of Science in Hotel & Food Service Management from Florida International University.


Board Member: Ms. Charlene Bryson (representing CBA)

Effective: 1 July 2014

Charlene Bryson is currently Manager Integrity Supervision Department at the Centrale Bank van Aruba (CBA) which position she holds since August 1, 2014. She is a graduate of the Leiden University in the Netherlands in civil law (2000). In 2001 she started her professional career at a local law firm. In 2003 she combined her work as an attorney at law with a part time appointment at the Faculty of Law of the Universiteit van Aruba as a lecturer teaching international private law until 2009. In 2007 she joined the CBA as legal advisor in the Supervision Department.


Board Member: Mr. Roccini Anthony (representing CBA)


Effective: December 2014

Roccini is a registered accountant, has been working at the Central Bank of Aruba as Manager of the Internal Audit Department for over six years, and additionally holds a position as lecturer at the University of Aruba since 2013. Besides being a board member at IFEA he also occupies the function of Treasurer at the Lions Club of Aruba.


Our team would not be complete without someone to coordinate all the activities and subsequent tasks involved. This is our coordinator, who will be your contact person and will also be present at all events as a hostess and guide.

Coordinator: Mrs. Glenda Arends-Geerman

Effective: February 1st 2017

_____________________________________________________________________________ Financial Statements